Beach walks and puppy thoughts 🐾🌊🐢

With the weather finally feeling warmer, the beach is an obvious choice for an adventure. So after running errands a little while ago, we headed down to Llansteffan for a stroll on the sand in the sunshine β˜€οΈ

Surpisingly, there weren’t very many people on the beach on this visit, I’m assuming it’s because of the strong wind that was blowing over the open sand. That didn’t put us off though! The rich sea air and its distinctive smell always puts a smile on my face, it’s my ultimate favourite thing. Even though the wind was strong it’s impossible to make me unhappy on the beach, I am drawn to the ocean and the colour of the sea and the patterns of the waves. Literally everything about the beach and sea makes me feel complete.

IMG_0481

And now back to our afternoon haha, there’s Owen bracing the wind!

Llansteffan’s beach is often referred to as a “dog beach”, which is fine by me! I bloody love dogs. We always see lots of dogs whenever we come here for a walk, and when we have our very own pup we’ll certainly bring him down to play. The beach isn’t one I’d really sunbathe in, its not very sheltered. Basically it’s not as good as my native beaches in Pembrokeshire πŸ˜‚ Β But it’s a lovely beach for a long walk and ideal for taking your dog to play on. The thought of us having our own puppy excites me almost as much as being on the beach!

 

IMG_1003

On this visit we went on the long walk up to the castle to look at the lovely view in the sunshine. It’s glorious up there at this time of the year. I took this photo looking through a hole in the castle wall; I’m quite impressed with it if I say so myself! πŸ“·

IMG_0993

Of course, seeing lots of dogs on the beach makes me so incredibly broody for a dog of our own. I lost my little Jack Russell, Norman, 3 years ago when he was put down due to health issues. He had lost his eyesight, had severe kidney problems and at the age of 13 it was the kindest thing to do for his wellbeing. It took me a long time to adjust to not having a little wet nosed, fluffy little character following me around everywhere, begging for tummy rubs and scraps. I get jealous seeing people with their own dogs who can experience everything that I miss. Hopefully it won’t be long before Owen and I can say that we are dog parents… 🐢😏

IMG_0490

Back to the beach!Β πŸ˜‚Β I love walking through the woods at Llansteffan. When you get a sneaky peak of the beach through the trees it always seem so magical, and the water sparkles beautifully when you’re seeing it from above. I always spot something new each time we have a wander through the woods, something will always catch my eye.

I loved this picture I took as well; the red really stands out against the backdrop of the deep blue sky. Gorgeous! 😍

IMG_0498

Being the closest beach to where we live, we try and visit it as much as we can. Alas, sometimes life gets in the way of finding time to wind down and appreciate the little things.
This is a focus of this blog I think; a way for me to take time to appreciate the little things in life and reflect on them 😊

It’s amazing how just a half an hour stroll with the sand between my toes and the wind in my hair can clear away the cobwebs and make me feel so grateful for everything I have πŸ’•

That’s all for now folks!

Lou xo

Leave a Reply

