My Lake District surprise! Part 1.

With it being our birthdays in a few weeks (big birthdays too – I turn 30 the day before Owen does!! 😩), Owen wanted to take me away for a mini break to a surprise location. All I was told was that we were going around 5 hours away, I’d need warm clothes, walking shoes and swimwear! πŸ€”

The day before leaving, trying to pack was becoming impossible without knowing where we were off to. So Owen finally gave in and told me he was taking me to the Lake District! Somewhere I’ve always wanted to visit β˜ΊοΈπŸ’•

The following morning, we were up early to drop off Denis our cat to the cattery, and to get on the road for the long journey ahead of us. Luckily we travelled up through mid Wales, avoiding the motorway and soaking up the incredible views that the Welsh countryside has to offer. We’re so lucky to live in such a beautiful country πŸ˜πŸ’š

After a gentle drive up, and just over 5 hours later, we arrive at the Lake District and make our way along a twisting country lane to our hotel. Owen had booked us in the junior suite of a stunning little hotel called Lyth Valley Country Inn. Set in the rolling hills of the Lyth Valley, this little gem of a hotel was the perfect base for us to begin our adventures. We were greeted by a super lovely lady who checked us into our room, it was nice to meet someone so nice upon arrival.

Our suite was called ‘Foxes Den’ (so perfect), and as you can see from my pictures above, the view from our door was beautiful, and reminded me of home in Wales πŸ’• The bathroom floor tiles were just glorious too 😍 The interior of the room was wonderful, a modern country style that suited its settings perfectly. I wish my bedroom looked like that πŸ˜‚ Owen did SO good booking this place!!

After recharging our batteries for a short while, we decided to head to the nearby Lake Windermere, and town of Bowness-on-Windermere.

The winding country lanes to the town were full of ups and downs that made us giggle as we were driving along; it was like being on a roller coaster! πŸ˜‚ Β We drove past so so many beautiful farm houses and cottages, I was in heaven. Within 15 minutes we arrived at Bowness-on-Windermere, and were blown away by the beautiful backdrop of the town. A vast lake full of boats, framed with mountains and woodland. Perfection!!

We headed straight for the lake so we could lap up the views, and were not disappointed. I absolutely love the sea, I find it so mesmerising watching the waves. Then there’s the sound and the smell of the sea, everything about it is lush 😍

We had a stroll along the harbour where there were lots and lots of other people enjoying the late afternoon sunshine like ourselves. Many of whom had dogs, I might add, which pleased me greatly haha 😏🐢 we had a little nose in a few shops, sat and people watched for a while before our grumbling tummys told us it was time for dinner.

We headed back to our hotel in Lyth Valley to get ready for food. We’d seen the restaurants menu when we arrived, and it looked fantastic so we couldn’t wait to sample some grub!

The restaurant was full of dark wood and mismatched old furniture which I loved. We had a lovely table by the window, and again the countryside views were just heavenly. 😍

Owen and I both decided on a venison shank for dinner. Oh. My. Gosh. It was absolutely incredible!! This was the first time I’d ever tried venison, and I have to say it was delicious. I would definitely have it again! Owen said the same too.

After food, we were full and tired, so headed down to our room for some r&r. And that pretty much sums up day 1 of our Lake District adventure!

To be continued….

Lou xo πŸ’•

Leave a Reply

